Friday, July 15, 2011

India: New Coin Series with Rupee symbol

New Indian Rupee Symbol

The new Indian Rupee symbol was announced about an year ago. Last week the Finance ministry announced a new series of coins bearing this rupee symbol. The new series will consist if 50 paise, 1, 2, 5 and 10 Rupees. Note that the 25 paise coin has been discontinued since 2010. Material specifications are still not very clear apart from the fact that the 10 Rupees coin will still be a bi-metallic.

Below is an image posted in many internet sites.

New Indian Coin Series with Rupee Symbol

For more details see:

1. Press release of Ministry Of Finance on 8th July 2011.

2. My previous post on Indian Rupee gets new symbol.

No comments:

Blog Widget by LinkWithin