Friday, April 2, 2010

India: RBI Platinum Jubilee Commemorative coin set released

HE Manmohan Singh, the Prime Minister of India, released a commemorative coin set to mark the occasion of Platinum Jubilee of Reserve Bank of India.

The set consists of five denominations - Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 75. The first four denominations will also be issued as circulation coins. Images are still not available. However, the first details made available by RBI are as follows:

Obverse: All coins will bear the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar in the center with the legend "Satyameva Jayate" (सत्यमेव जयते) in Hindi inscribed below. The upper peripheries will have the words "Bharat" (भारत) in Hindi and "INDIA" in English. The denomination value will appear below the Lion Capitol, flanked by "Rupiye" in Hindi and "RUPEES" in English.

Reverse: Reverse of the coins will bear the RBI emblem with inscriptions "RESERVE BANK OF INDIA" in Hindi and in English. "PLATINUM JUBILEE" in Hindi and in English along with year "1935-2010" shall also be inscribed below the emblem.

Sizes and other details are as below:

Press release of Reserve Bank of India on 1 Apr 2010.

No comments:

Blog Widget by LinkWithin